My Favourite Blog

This week’s assignment asked us what our favourite blog is, why it is good and why people read it.

My favourite blog is found at http://failblog.org/.  It is not a technical page.  It is not an insightful page.  It doesn’t instruct, guide or inspire me to greater heights in my personal or professional life.  Still, I believe that it satisfies a basic need in the human psyche; that is the need to feel superior to someone.

There are all kinds of places around the web where I can find the blogs of incredible people doing incredible things.  I can read the words of missionaries in Africa.  I can learn from NASA’s rocket scientists.  I can study the motivations and actions of a high school student fighting for human rights in China by leading a letter-writing campaign.  I can even gain insight into the creative process by reading the blogs of some of the most creative musicians/artists/designers on the planet.  I can… but I won’t.  It’s not that I don’t want to learn, grow or evolve as a person, because I do!  (Well, most days anyways.)

No, the sad truth is that while awesome, talented people are great, they are also kind of irritating.  I mean, have you ever known someone who was good at everything?  I’m talking about the type of person that wins the math award, the english award and is the captain of the whatever-impresses-you team?  For the purposes of this blog we’ll call this person ‘Captain Awesome’.  And while they certainly have an abundance of greatness to share with the world, I personally always end up feeling inferior afterwards.  After all, when compared to Captain Awesome, many of us fall a little short.

This is where failblog.org comes to our rescue.  Rather than bombarding us with excellence, which would inspire us to set lofty, unattainable goals and set us up for disappointment, failblog reminds us that even if you have some pretty idiotic moments (and we all do), there are always people out there that will make you look like a genius in comparison.  Consider the hair salon sign below.  Somebody actually thought is was a good idea. Knowing that they are that stupid and that I am not is very reassuring.  And the next time I run into a door or say something truly bone-headed I will be able to deal with it, because hey, at least I didn’t give my business a name that inspires images of Cameron Diaz and her special hair  ‘mousse’ in ‘There’s Something About Mary.”

failblog.or case #1

Failblog showcases examples of stupidity in all of its myriad manifestations.  Case #2 is another solid example of ‘I may be an idiot, but at least I’m not this guy.”

If at first you don't succeed...

Tell me honestly that you don’t feel better about yourself than you did before you started reading this article and I’ll call you a liar.

There are other reasons other than the ego-stroke that contribute to failblog.org’s popularity though.  One is that it is community-based in that it allows anyone to upload and contribute.  This encourages users to be involved and engage themselves.  Thus rather than being a one-way line of communication,  it is an interactive process that allows users to invest themselves in the site.  This higher level of involvement will bring them back to the page time and time again.

It is also possible to vote on individual submissions to determine the subject’s degree of failure.  That is nice, because while it is enjoyable to bask in someonelse’s stupidity, it is even better when we can tell them just how stupid they really are.

8 Comments

  1. Haha, i completely forgot about Failblog. Nice Choice

  2. Well you have some valid points about blogs my good fellow…..maybe Im just to much of a negative person and dont like things is why I dont read blogs

  3. I have to agree with you Ian, Failblog is definitely in a class of its own. I really enjoy the situational “fails”, for example when you have an “Al Anon” sign promising help and salvation on the door of a liquor store or other things like that.

    I suggest you take a look at the other blogs that fall under the Cheezburger network (you can find them listed at the bottom of the blog). Failbook and others also have some incredible moments that should be enjoyed by one and all.

  4. I agree Failblog is probably one of the best blogs out there. It’s so popular that “Fail” and “Epic Fail” has become part of our everyday words.

  5. I have to agree, failblog is full of win. It’s sites like failblog, fml, and not always right that make me feel better about myself….well I think I’ll feel this way until someone takes the time to documents my fails.

  6. I am now inspired to view fail blog to remind my self that i am mere human and can fail like these people at anytime.

  7. Haha, Failblog is my favorite choice too, it always makes me laugh at how stupid some people are.

  8. haha, nice choice! It is a good place to go for a laugh.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

